Author Question: what could be the best term paper for sociology that involves the culture inside a university? (Read 924 times)

federox

i'm still a freshman college student and i'm not sure on how to choose a topic for my sociology term paper.

TI

Generalized thinking between society and what is needed to achieve goals with peer pressure within the university and social groups on campus.

Related Topics

Need homework help now?

Ask unlimited questions for free

Ask a Question

penguins

At your level, it shouldn't be too analytical.  Rather, you should be more descriptive:   define the school's  "cultures", identify them clearly, and then analyze the different cultures according to your definition.
Easy and useful to advance to the next level of being an actual proponent of something.  
My advice to any University student  is understand as early as possible what type of personality you have.  I have found that the vast majority of workplaces are stifling, mind-numbing holes BUT if you find one that suits your personality, it can be gravy.

camila

here's just a couple of ideas i could think of as a sociology major and a college student (out of many, i'm sure!)
-the drinking culture (how different it is from high school, experimentation, level of drinking, acceptance of binge drinking, how many people have fake IDs, etc.) - definitely a big part of college culture
-adjustment of freshman to college life (being on their own the first time, no one reminding them about homework or doing their laundry, chosing their own classes for possibly the first time, etc.)
-sorority/fraternity culture