Author Question: If you are mediocre at math, how much study time would you recommend to get an A in your college courses? (Read 2812 times)

karateprodigy

I'm starting in intermediate algebra, then college algerbra, trig, ect. . .

I'm going for a computer science degree, so I am going to need very good math skills, and I need to train my brain so it comes as naturally as talking. Obviously studying as much as possible would be best, but I just want opinions on how much per day is good. 1 hour? 2 hours?

waynest

Related Topics

Need homework help now?

Ask unlimited questions for free

Ask a Question

leilurhhh

I'm studying my pre-med right now, and bad math skills are something I have.

I never received an A in my Algebra subjects only a B- was my highest for that.

I have to admit that I rarely studied for my Algebra subjects and I am really bad at Math. I only study perhaps before a test or a discussion, just so I don't look that stupid in class.

But I can say that if you give about 1-3 hours of your time in studying Math, you would really do well. You should do this daily though and at the times when your mind is very attentive and awake.

Good luck! (Who knows you might get an A)

asd123

The 'average' recommendation for study time in college is 2 hours outside of class for every hour in class.  

Two factors figure in to help you decide how much time you will need for your math studying:
1. Most Math classes meet for about 3 hours a week in college... some meet for 5 hours.  
2.  Math is a challenging subject... it will require more time than the 'average' time... your PE courses or some other subjects that come easy to you will require less than the two hours recommended.