Author Question: what's the difference between mac and pc and which should I get if...? (Read 1281 times)

camila

I am a student, will major in computer science. I just started taking my CS classes and really I do not know much about computers yet, other than I need a laptop for convenience.
Tho no one has really answered my question at school about what should I get, a mac or pc?
I don't understand yet what are the percs of each, but I do need one soon because my commute is long and all my homework is.... code.
So if someone can give me an explanation regarding my question, thank you a lot.

daltonest1984

If your going to be using it for school then I would get a PC. A Mac is used more for picture and video editing. If you like to do those things than get a Mac. If not then Id stick with a PC.

Related Topics

Need homework help now?

Ask unlimited questions for free

Ask a Question

laurencescou

I would assume if you're coding, then you're not coding for Macs.....why limit yourself to using one?

The Mac is a sweet designed machine, and a cool OS - but if you're coding - get a PC.

Granted - you can run Windows on the MAC now - and Mac on the Windows.

Whatever you get - download VMWare - it's your best friend for creating environments to play with without worrying about trashing your lifeline of a computer.

Corporate grade is better.  Lattitude instead of Inspiron - NC instead of Pavillion - etc.

Best of luck.

michelleunicorn

For computer science, go with a PC for sure.  90% of the world runs on PC's, so it just makes more sense to direct your education toward something everyone uses.

Macs are better for Graphic Designers, but thats about it.

jlmhmf