Author Question: If I really like my psychology class would I like sociology? (Read 921 times)

Hawke

Are they the same difficulty level??

I am planning for next semester and im debating whether to take an other psychology class or sociology cause I loved psychology. Both are needed but I have the option to wait.

curlz

During my senior year of high school, I took Intro to Psychology night class at a community college. I'm currently a freshman in a 4-year college, with an Intro to Sociology class (1 month to go until done with Intro to Soci). The difficulty depends mostly on your teacher/professor. He or she may have different grading systems, lecture styles, homework, and expectations. But based on simply learning the materials from the textbook, I'd say both have relatively similar difficulty.

Since I love learning human behavior and why we act the way we act, I took psychology first, then switched to sociology because criminology is a branch of sociology. I don't have a lot of experience with either, but I can give the gist of sociology based on what I have learned.

As for whether you would like sociology, it depends on your interests. If you like learning about social behavior, I recommend taking intro to sociology. So I'll give a brief summary of what to expect:

I'm assuming you've taken Intro to Psychology already. It talked about the brain, its various parts, and their functions; hormones and some chemicals and medicines; mental disorders; brain development; gender roles; conditioned and unconditioned stimulus, experiments, experiment styles (participant observations, for example), theories; vision, hearing, and other senses; therapy, psychotherapy; etc etc. In a way, intro to psychology sounds more clinical/medical than sociology. I like to compare psychology as like explaining the "internal" (the psychological and physiological) aspect, while sociology is the "external" (influences by others) aspect.